Supply Chain Management


As you may know, April-May is final exam time for students. I have just completed my third year of university and let me tell you, it was a bit rough, but overall very enjoyable and successful. Since I am in the “academic spirit” (sort of) I figured a post on the topic would be a great way to close the school season, and open up for summer 2012.

I feel fortunate  to be studying something that will be of great use in my future “beer related career(s)”. A lot of students I talk too say that they feel their area of study is completely useless and with that lack of motivation, I cannot blame them for wanting to just skim by. I feel lucky to have a general idea of what I want to do post-schooling. It forces me to take more out of the courses which are relevant. I am studying operation management and am thinking of doing a minor in accounting. The introductory Management Accounting course I took last summer was awesome and difficult.

Wikipedia gives this new area of study a thorough definition:

“Op.Management is concerned with overseeing, designing,  and controlling the process of production and redesigning business operations in the production of goods and/or services. It involves the responsibility of ensuring that business operations are efficient in terms of using as few resources as needed, and effective in terms of meeting customer requirements”

Just recently, the previous supply chain manager at Apple Inc, Tim Cook, was appointed CEO of Apple Inc. succeeding Steve Jobs. The promotion received a lot of media attention and helped shine light on this area of management in any business, specifically in the area of cost/process management. I could not be studying anything more convenient in preparing to enter the brewing industry.

As for electives, I have taken courses like first nations studies, middle east history, sustainable management, and writing courses. I feel these are great sources of knowledge for general discussion with family and friends and great conversations starters with random people. Courses like manegerial accounting have helped me in “real life” as well. Budgeting has become one of my main functions, and so crucial in preparing for cost related goals that require hundreds of hours of preparation. Man. Accounting simply developed my skills in doing so.

Last week or so I completed goal #1 – $600 for the purchase of some upgraded bike parts. Here is a picture of my bike, and my salvaged Burly Nomad Trailer!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 537 other followers

